Woodpeckers in Porto

5th of November Woodpeckers will perform at REMA Showcase 2011 in Porto.

J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
From The Art of Fugue:
Contrapunctus I
Contrapunctus IX

A. Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto in C major, RV 443, arr. B. Driever
allegro – largo – allegro molto

Programme Notes by Kate Hearne
Although it is widely acknowledged that Bach conceived his momentous Art of Fugue as a keyboard work, it can also be looked upon as purely a didactic exercise, thus rendering the possibility of performing it live in many ways. Presenting this work by using the medium of four recorders results in an organ-like quality of sound, while at the same time allowing for musical flexibility through what we consider to be some kind of ultimate chamber music experience. Bach himself was no stranger to arranging hits of the day to suit his needs.

When Vivaldi’s L’Estro Armonico was published in 1711, the concerti caused quite a stir in Europe, and Bach transcribed no less than 6 of these concerti into keyboard works of various sorts. Vivaldi’s C-major concerto, RV 443, is a well-loved standard in any recorder players’ repertoire. The arrangement for four recorders gives in to our indulgences, presenting the piece in a new and interesting way. We thought it fitting to include this among our selection from Bach’s Art of Fugue, presenting two of the best-known Baroque composers in their closely linked, yet juxtaposing styles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.